The question

Public infrastructure is built in the open. Its truth is filed somewhere else. The concrete is visible, the machines are working, a surveyor sights the line. But the sign on the barrier says only "District road, 14 km". The contractor is unreadable, the contract value is not stated, the completion date is not stated, and no one is named to ask.

A sign on a barrier is not a project you can follow. The question is narrow: when does a project become public? Not when it is photographed, and not when a portal goes live, but when a citizen can follow it from promise to proof. Five links answer that.

One note on numbers before we start. A 2025 field-level mapping prepared for the Africa Freedom of Information Centre and Uganda's Public Procurement and Disposal of Public Assets Authority found that the Government Procurement Portal published 17.6 percent of the OC4IDS requirements assessed, 26 of 148 data elements, and 4.2 percent of the project-level disclosure paths. That is a historical baseline from November 2025, before the portal's June 2026 upgrade. It is not a current coverage assessment, and it should not be read as one.

The first link is disclosure. What minimum facts make a project followable at all?

The Infrastructure Data Standard (IDS) sets them out: 40 proactive data points published as a matter of course, across identification, preparation, procurement, delivery and completion. Not just the moment a contract is awarded. Alongside them sit 27 reactive items, released on request, as the backstop when proactive publication stops short.

Without those facts, citizens cannot ask precise questions. They can only suspect.

Publication is fragile if each system stores the facts differently. The second link keeps them comparable.

The Open Contracting for Infrastructure Data Standard (OC4IDS) gives each fact a stable place: one common structure that runs project, contracts, changes and progress together, so a portal, an analyst, a journalist and an oversight body all read one record the same way.

Structure does not prove quality. A record can pass schema validation and still be thin. That is exactly why the next link exists.

Disclosure is a claim. Someone has to test it against the documents and the ground.

An independent reviewer does that work: comparing what the record says with what the files and the site show, then turning technical data into findings a non-specialist can use. In CoST's Data Publication Manual the mechanism is the Independent Review, the current name for what was previously called Assurance.

Take a worked trace. The record claims 14 km sealed, with no variations recorded. The review finds that the value reconciles with payments and the documents are complete, but that only 11 km are sealed on the ground and one variation order exists, unrecorded. The check is physical: a reviewer runs a tape along the road and marks where the record and the ground disagree.

That is illustrative, not a real project finding. But the two flags, a short delivery and an unrecorded change, are exactly what review exists to surface and explain. Trust begins when the record survives contact with the ground.

One project being visible says nothing about whether a country's system is getting better. The fourth link measures direction.

The Infrastructure Transparency Index scores a whole system from 0 to 100 across four dimensions and 93 indicators: enabling environment (12 indicators), capacities and processes (25), citizen participation (12), and data publication (44).

No country score is asserted here. The point is the instrument, not a ranking. A score read once is a ranking; a score read again is a direction.

Data matters only when someone uses it, and that use can be concrete. The fifth link is social accountability.

A live example, from the Uganda Government Procurement Portal's infrastructure dashboard, read in June 2026: 28.5 percent of competitive tenders attracted a single bidder, 155 of 543 tenders, with an average of 3.6 bidders across 393 projects. The dashboard is a live, recomputing view; those figures are a dated snapshot of it, not a fixed measurement.

A single-bid rate is a risk flag, not proof of wrongdoing. It tells oversight where to look first. Then the number moves through real roles: a journalist flags it as a story, a monitoring group asks whether competition barriers explain it, the multi-stakeholder group requests a written follow-up, the procuring entity explains the figure or improves the next procurement, and back at the barrier a resident can ask a precise question instead of a vague suspicion.

More detail on how a record holds up under those questions runs in two companion pieces: Malawi infrastructure portal: 162 records and no measured progress data and Zambia's infrastructure data: one of six public checks can run.

Remove disclosure and the project has no minimum public facts: people see the road but cannot follow the decision. Remove structure and the facts exist but cannot travel cleanly across systems. Remove review and disclosure remains a claim; trust has not been tested. Remove measurement and individual projects may improve, but the system has no visible direction. Remove use and evidence exists, but no one acts on it to change decisions.

One chain makes a project public: people can follow it, read it, test it, measure progress and use the evidence.

Evidence register

Sources

  • Africa Freedom of Information Centre and Uganda Public Procurement and Disposal of Public Assets Authority, GPP mapping against OC4IDS, presented 13 November 2025; reported by New Vision, 14 November 2025: https://www.newvision.co.ug/category/business/why-govt-is-moving-to-upgrade-procurement-por-NV_222664. Baseline figures: 17.6 percent of OC4IDS requirements (26 of 148 data elements), 4.2 percent of project-level disclosure paths.
  • Uganda Government Procurement Portal, infrastructure dashboard, snapshot read June 2026: 28.5 percent single-bid rate (155 of 543 tenders), 3.6 average bidders, 393 projects. https://gpp.ppda.go.ug/open-data?tab=infrastructure&section=dashboard (the dashboard recomputes; this is a dated snapshot).
  • CoST framing: the Infrastructure Data Standard (40 proactive data points, 27 reactive disclosure items), OC4IDS (common structure for infrastructure project and contracting data), the Independent Review (the current term in CoST's Data Publication Manual for what was previously called Assurance), and the Infrastructure Transparency Index (0 to 100, four dimensions, 93 indicators per the ITI manual).
  • The 14 km versus 11 km trace is illustrative, not a real project finding.

Read next

Zambia's infrastructure data: one of six public checks can run

Transparency does not make a project good. It lets you find out whether it is. Six inspection tests and four distinct reasons a record cannot answer, anchored on a real OC4IDS field-level mapping.

Also related

Malawi infrastructure portal: 162 records and no measured progress data

Malawi's public data marks six kilometres of the M12 to Ludzi road complete, at 1.3 billion kwacha, and the records that would let you check that claim are largely absent. Across 162 projects, measured progress is recorded for none.

Why public procurement data does not deliver accountability alone

Who benefits when a problem is reported, and who bears the risk of naming it? In the disclosure programmes this essay draws on, publication cannot settle those incentives. It makes a problem knowable; acting on it is decided elsewhere.

Start a conversation

If this piece names a decision you own, tell me what you are hoping to achieve and where I could help.

Start an enquiry →

More writing · RSS